5 movement stories and rhymes for preschoollers

Cover Image for 5 movement stories and rhymes for preschoollers

Children need to move all the time. After sitting for a long time, my son starts behaving uncontrollably, resorts to destructive actions and aggression, etc. So when we play quiet games or learn for some time, I always try to make him move for at least 5 minutes every half an hour. It can be energetic games, action songs, or movement stories. I will share 5 of our most favourite movement stories and rhymes.


1. Movement story: The Big Brown Bear adventure.

 My son loves bears and stories about them. So this wonderful story not only teaches him listening skills and enlarges his English vocabulary but engages him and encourages him to move.


2. Movement story: Winter

 Here Tony not only moves but tries to tell the story himself. Sorry for the bad quality, there was no time to set the camera properly.


3. Movement mini story: Turtle and the rain.

Tony pretends that he is a turtle. I say: "Oh no, it's started to rain!". He quickly curls up tight under his shell and counts to 10. Then I say: " The sun is shining again, come out!". He stands up, lifts his hands, and stretches. Then we repeat several times.


4. Movement rhyme: The Little Spinning Top.

This exercise is great since it offers vestibular input. It really helps Tony to calm down.


5. Movement song: I'm a fork, knife, spoon, spatula.

Storytime song from one of my favourite channels. It's a very quick way to get rid of the tension and move a little. 

Lyrics: 

I'm a knife, fork, spoon, spatula, cha cha cha   (repeat 4 times with movements)


These are some stories and rhymes that help children to move and learn English in an engaging way. More movement games and activities here and here.


More Stories

Cover Image for Letter formation activities

Letter formation activities

I started teaching my son phonics when he was 3. It has been really challenging so I tried to incorporate lots of games and crafts. To help him memorize letter formation I use different creative ways.

Yulia Bilonoh
Yulia Bilonoh
Cover Image for 5 movement games which my 4 year-old adores

5 movement games which my 4 year-old adores

In winter we tend to spend less time outdoors because it's chilly, windy, etc. The less active walking time, the more energy for misbehaving. Today I want to share some indoor games that help me survive.

Yulia Bilonoh
Yulia Bilonoh