5 movement games which my 4 year-old adores

Cover Image for 5 movement games which my 4 year-old adores

In winter we tend to spend less time outdoors because it's chilly, windy etc. The less active walking time, the more energy for misbehaving. Today I want to share some indoor games that help me survive low-activity periods. Ready, steady, go!


1. Let's cross the room in 10 different ways

 This simple movement activity requires zero resources and no preparation at all. My son and I go from one side of the room to the other in different ways: run, jump, hop, bear crawl, walk on heels, walk on tiptoes, go backward, crawl, squat, roll, dance, etc. I usually use this game as a filler between calm learning activities to keep Tony focused. It takes us only 5 minutes but burns lots of energy. Besides, it's a great way to learn movement verbs in English.


2. Obstacle course.

I've already written about this activity in this article. Here is its variation. You need some time for setting up this activity. I used:

  • a balance cushion for maintaining balance
  • some cones for running between them
  • a hula hoop for crawling through
  • toss rings for walking on tiptoes
  • two mattresses and a blanket for making a tunnel
  • balance beam for keeping balance
  • massage mats for stimulating feet or for jumping over them


I often cheer Tony to go faster and stay focused while doing exercise. Sometimes I give him little prizes to encourage his participation.

3. Hands and feet hopscotch

It is a great physical and cognitive exercise. I printed hands and feet outlines and stuck them on the floor with painter's tape. I decided to keep the arrangement easy for a start but my son coped with it easily.


4. Boccia

 For this fun game, you don't need special equipment, I used two colors of rolled-up socks (black and grey) and white socks for jack. The rules are very simple: start with throwing the jack. After that, the participants try to throw their socks as closer to the jack as possible. The winner will be the one with more balls closer to the jack.

The game helps to develop the skill of precision and control.


5. What's the time, Mr.Wolf?

It is a classical game that helps a child not only to move but to practice numbers. One of the participants is a wolf and the other stands from the wolf approximately 10-15 steps apart on a line, for example, made of painter's tape. The participant asks: "What's the time, Mr.Wolf?" and the wolf replies with a number: "It's three o'clock". It means that the other participant should make 3 steps. When he will be close to the wolf he answers the question about the time: "It's lunchtime" and start chasing the person. If the latter manages to cross the line before he is caught it means he is in the house and he wins. If the wolf catches him, then the wolf wins.


 These are our top favorite games that develop certain skills and improve the English language in a natural and exciting way. Feel free to comment and share your thoughts!




More Stories

Cover Image for 5 movement stories and rhymes for preschoollers

5 movement stories and rhymes for preschoollers

Children need to move all the time. After sitting for a long time, my son starts behaving uncontrollably, resorts to destructive actions and aggression, etc. So when we play quiet games or learn for some time, I always try to make him move for at least 5 minutes every half an hour. It can be energetic games, action songs, or movement stories. I will share 5 of our most favourite movement stories and rhymes.

Yulia Bilonoh
Yulia Bilonoh
Cover Image for Letter formation activities

Letter formation activities

I started teaching my son phonics when he was 3. It has been really challenging so I tried to incorporate lots of games and crafts. To help him memorize letter formation I use different creative ways.

Yulia Bilonoh
Yulia Bilonoh