Letter formation activities

Cover Image for Letter formation activities

 I started teaching my son phonics when he was 3. It has been really challenging so I try to incorporate lots of games and crafts. To help him memorize letter formation I use different creative ways.

Playdough

Make outlines of a letter on a piece of paper. Then roll a coil and smoosh it to fill the letter. 


Sometimes we press small objects like pasta or beads into the dough.

And here we made a "monster" letter with lots of colourful eyes.


Stones or coffee beans

Trace a letter using coffee beans or little stones. You can use glue or do without it.

Сotton wool

Apply glue to the surface of a letter and press cotton wool into it. It's possible to decorate it with sprinkles.

Poking

Make letter outlines on the carton. Make holes in the lines using a toothpick. 

Stickers

Covering letters with stickers is so much fun.

Lego duplo

Form letters using Lego blocks.

Ripped paper

This activity is great for fine motor skills. A child rips paper and strengthens his fingers. So first rip coloured paper and then glue the pieces to form a letter.


These are some fun ways to practice letters. Feel free to share your thoughts n the comments.




More Stories

Cover Image for 5 movement stories and rhymes for preschoollers

5 movement stories and rhymes for preschoollers

Children need to move all the time. After sitting for a long time, my son starts behaving uncontrollably, resorts to destructive actions and aggression, etc. So when we play quiet games or learn for some time, I always try to make him move for at least 5 minutes every half an hour. It can be energetic games, action songs, or movement stories. I will share 5 of our most favourite movement stories and rhymes.

Yulia Bilonoh
Yulia Bilonoh
Cover Image for 5 movement games which my 4 year-old adores

5 movement games which my 4 year-old adores

In winter we tend to spend less time outdoors because it's chilly, windy, etc. The less active walking time, the more energy for misbehaving. Today I want to share some indoor games that help me survive.

Yulia Bilonoh
Yulia Bilonoh