Felt storyboard "I love my white shoes"

Cover Image for Felt storyboard "I love my white shoes"

Pete the Cat series enchants kids from the very first reading: a simple storyline, amusing images, and an instructive idea in every story. Most of the books about Pete the cat make perfect felt storyboards. 

What are the benefits of a felt storyboard?

  • as a multisensory activity, it is more effective for memorizing the language than just reading;
  • it can be more engaging than a book since kids help to manipulate felt pieces;
  • it stimulates creativity and imagination. 

Today I will show how I organize the felt storyboard based on the book "I love my white shoes".

You will need:

  • Pete the cat felt piece;
  • colourful shoes or boots;
  • felt puddle of different colours.

Put Pete the cat figure wearing white shoes on the board.

Pete the Cat was walking down the street in his brand-new white shoes. Pete loved his white shoes so much, he sang this song.
"I love my WHITE shoes, I love my white shoes, I love my white shoes, I love my white shoes." Oh no! Pete stepped in a large pile of.....

Strawberries!
What color did it turn his shoes? RED!

Change the shoes to red ones.

Did Pete cry? Goodness, no! He kept walking along and singing his song.
"I love my RED shoes, I love my red shoes, I love my red shoes, I love my red shoes." Oh no! Pete stepped in a large pile of.....

Blueberries! What color did it turn his shoes? BLUE!

Change the shoes to blue ones.

Did Pete cry? Goodness, no! He kept walking along and singing his song.

"I love my BLUE shoes, I love my blue shoes, I love my blue shoes, I love my blue shoes." Oh no! Oh no! Pete stepped in a large puddle of.....
mud! What color did it turn his shoes? BROWN!

Change the shoes to brown ones.

Did Pete cry? Goodness, no! He kept walking along and singing his song.
"I love my BROWN shoes, I love my brown shoes, I love my brown shoes, I love my brown shoes." Oh no! Pete stepped in a bucket of water..... and all the brown, and all the blue, and all the red were washed away. What color were his shoes again? WHITE!

Put on the white shoes again.

But now they were WET. Did Pete cry? Goodness, no! He kept walking along and singing his song.
"I love my WET shoes, I love my wet shoes, I love my wet shoes, I love my wet shoes."
The moral of Pete's story is: No matter what you step in, keep walking along and singing your song... because it's all good.

This storyboard is so much fun! And you can teach colours and action verbs.


More Stories

Cover Image for 5 movement stories and rhymes for preschoollers

5 movement stories and rhymes for preschoollers

Children need to move all the time. After sitting for a long time, my son starts behaving uncontrollably, resorts to destructive actions and aggression, etc. So when we play quiet games or learn for some time, I always try to make him move for at least 5 minutes every half an hour. It can be energetic games, action songs, or movement stories. I will share 5 of our most favourite movement stories and rhymes.

Yulia Bilonoh
Yulia Bilonoh
Cover Image for Letter formation activities

Letter formation activities

I started teaching my son phonics when he was 3. It has been really challenging so I tried to incorporate lots of games and crafts. To help him memorize letter formation I use different creative ways.

Yulia Bilonoh
Yulia Bilonoh