Illustrated glossary "Playing with playdoh"

Cover Image for Illustrated glossary "Playing with playdoh"

Playing with dough is a great way to develop creativity and improve fine motor skills. When my son started manipulating with playdoh, I didn't know the names of the actions he performed. So I looked up and created a glossary to help other moms whose native language is not English. Here is it.

Actions:

to pinch play dough with fingers

to pull it apart

to roll it with hands or with a rolling pin / to use a rolling pin to press the play dough flat

to flatten play dough out 


to roll it into small balls

to squeeze

to smash it with hands or with tools

to press something into play dough

to poke play dough with fingers or sticks

to spread play dough onto the surface

to mould

Tools:

a plastic knife

a rolling pin

a pop stick

a cookie cutter

plastic scissors

This is a basic vocabulary for playing with toddlers. In the next posts, I will share playdoh activities to enlarge children's vocabulary.


More Stories

Cover Image for 5 movement stories and rhymes for preschoollers

5 movement stories and rhymes for preschoollers

Children need to move all the time. After sitting for a long time, my son starts behaving uncontrollably, resorts to destructive actions and aggression, etc. So when we play quiet games or learn for some time, I always try to make him move for at least 5 minutes every half an hour. It can be energetic games, action songs, or movement stories. I will share 5 of our most favourite movement stories and rhymes.

Yulia Bilonoh
Yulia Bilonoh
Cover Image for Letter formation activities

Letter formation activities

I started teaching my son phonics when he was 3. It has been really challenging so I tried to incorporate lots of games and crafts. To help him memorize letter formation I use different creative ways.

Yulia Bilonoh
Yulia Bilonoh