Role play "Birthday party"

Cover Image for Role play "Birthday party"

Role plays can really save the day when you don't know how to entertain your child. I have already described the benefits of role plays in my blog. They are one of the most important activities that help kids develop. Today I want to describe how we play at the "Birthday party". It is suitable for kids starting with 2 years old. 

For the role play "Birthday party" you need:

  1. A cake made of sponges or playdoh.
  2. Pompoms used as sweets.
  3. Donuts from playdoh.
  4. Presents.
  5. Stuffed toys.
  6. Toy tea set.
  7. Toy transport to take the guests home.

Offer your child prepare for the party: to make a cake and donuts, prepare plates and cups, pick up pompoms with tweezers and transfer them into an empty chocolate box. These preparation activities improve fine motor skills.

The steps of this play:

1. Giving presents.  This stage is the most favourite for my son. Stuffed toys with presents knock at the door one by one and give Anton presents. Useful phrases: "This is for you", "Oh, thank you, it's just what I wanted", "I'm so glad!" When all the presents are unpacked and guests are seated, we move on to the next step.

2. Singing 'Happy birthday' and bringing in the cake. Then we make a wish and blow out imaginary candles. We "cut" the cake and everyone gets a piece. Useful phrases:  "Have one more piece, please", "Help yourself", "It's absolutely delicious", "This is the best cake I've ever had."

3. Having fun at the party. We sing songs and dance. Then mommy can read a book to the guests, for example, "Postman Bear" by Julia Donaldson when the bear invites other animals to his birthday celebration.

4. Taking the guests home. Anton sits on his toy push car and gives his toys a ride. Sometimes he even puts them to bed. Useful phrases: "It's time to go home", "It's too late", "Thank you for everything", "The party was so cool", "I had so much fun", "I'll give you a lift."

The game is simple but has so much room for variation depending on the age of the child.

If you are interested in other roleplays, check our posts about "Fire emergency" and "Vet clinic".


More Stories

Cover Image for 5 movement stories and rhymes for preschoollers

5 movement stories and rhymes for preschoollers

Children need to move all the time. After sitting for a long time, my son starts behaving uncontrollably, resorts to destructive actions and aggression, etc. So when we play quiet games or learn for some time, I always try to make him move for at least 5 minutes every half an hour. It can be energetic games, action songs, or movement stories. I will share 5 of our most favourite movement stories and rhymes.

Yulia Bilonoh
Yulia Bilonoh
Cover Image for Letter formation activities

Letter formation activities

I started teaching my son phonics when he was 3. It has been really challenging so I tried to incorporate lots of games and crafts. To help him memorize letter formation I use different creative ways.

Yulia Bilonoh
Yulia Bilonoh