Roleplay "At the airport"

Cover Image for Roleplay "At the airport"

    My son has always liked flying by plane so I decided to organize a pretend play. The weather was very cold and icy, Tony caught a cold so I needed something to entertain him with. I was inspired by Pinterest posts but I tried to keep everything simple to save time for preparation. So I spent no more than 20 minutes setting it up.


Props I needed:

  • A plane from a big cardboard box
  • ID cards
  • Boarding passes
  • Some chairs
  • A suitcase
  • Some toy food and drinks


The plane had a wow effect on my son and he kept playing almost all day long with some breaks.

I organized 3 zones: check-in, lounge, and the board of the plane. I skipped Customs and Passport control while departing.

  

 So first, passengers (which is me, our cat, and a teddy bear) showed our ID cards and got our boarding passes. Then I was waiting in the airport lounge until I heard an announcement:


“Attention! Flight number 123 Kyiv-Rome is boarding now. Passengers, proceed to Gate 3. Have your boarding pass and identification ready.”

   

Tony who is 4 can’t remember the whole text but the meaning was approximately the same. Then I showed my ID and pass and got on the plane. I fastened my seatbelt and listened to the pilot’s announcement:


“Ladies and gentlemen, this is you captain speaking. Welcome onboard Flight 123 with service from Kyiv to Rome. Fasten your seatbelts and turn off all personal electronic devices. Thank you for choosing Freedom airlines. Enjoy your flight”


  I played realistic sounds of taking off and landing on a big toy plane. After taking off my son played a role of a flight attendant and served drinks and food. Then the pilot made an announcement:


“Dear passengers, in 5 minutes we’re about to land in Rome. Please, return to your seats and fasten your seatbelts. The weather is sunny and warm in Rome, it’s 7 o’clock in the evening. Enjoy your stay in Rome. Thank you for flying with our airlines. Don’t leave your personal belongings behind.”


Then the plane landed and passengers got off the plane and proceeded to passport control. Then we collected our suitcases and went to the hotel.

Sometimes we added more situations like turbulence zones while flying or repairing the wings before taking off.


More Stories

Cover Image for 5 movement stories and rhymes for preschoollers

5 movement stories and rhymes for preschoollers

Children need to move all the time. After sitting for a long time, my son starts behaving uncontrollably, resorts to destructive actions and aggression, etc. So when we play quiet games or learn for some time, I always try to make him move for at least 5 minutes every half an hour. It can be energetic games, action songs, or movement stories. I will share 5 of our most favourite movement stories and rhymes.

Yulia Bilonoh
Yulia Bilonoh
Cover Image for Letter formation activities

Letter formation activities

I started teaching my son phonics when he was 3. It has been really challenging so I tried to incorporate lots of games and crafts. To help him memorize letter formation I use different creative ways.

Yulia Bilonoh
Yulia Bilonoh